The Music of a Marriage
Friday 1st Nov
7pm Concert
Grand Ballroom
Raffles Hotel - Le Royal



Friday 1st November
Raffles Hotel - Le Royal
Concert /Grand Ballroom

7 pm - The Music of a Marriage



Piano Trio g minor Op.17

I. Allegro moderato
II. Scherzo
III. Andante
IV. Allegretto

Robert Schumann encouraged Clara to compose, both before and after their wedding; they exchanged and borrowed themes from each other, and he contacted publishers in her behalf. Clara's finest work, her solitary Piano Trio, was composed in 1846, when she and Schumann had been married six years.


Piano Trio No. 1 Op. 63

I.Mit Energie und Leidenschaft
(With energy and passion)
II. Lebhaft, doch nicht zu rasch
(Lively, but not too fast)
II. Langsam, mit inniger Empfindung
(Slowly, with inner feeling)
IV. Mit Feuer - Nach und nach schneller
(With fire)

The intimate chamber music genres allowed Schumann to indulge his preference for intricate figurations and subtle harmonic inflections that are such a salient feature of his solo piano pieces. Not surprisingly, the piano chamber works are clearly piano driven, with the strings either following the keyboard part or acting in opposition to it as a unified block

Bangk Piano Trio

Rolf-Dieter Arens - piano
Chitipat Darapong - violin
Stefanie Waegner- cello