The 3 B's
Friday 10 Nov ,7pm

Friday 10th  November
Intercontinental Phnom Penh


6pm Pre-Concert Talk with Prof. Dieter Mack
 (University of Music Lubeck/Germany)

7pm Concert: The Three B's

Pietro Bonfilio/Italy


A short introduction:

The Three Bs" is an English-language phrase - generally used in discussions of classical music to refer to the supposed primacy of Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms.


`Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Toccata BWV 914

Among Bach’s lesser known keyboard works are seven toccatas (BWV 910–916)
Toccata  is a virtuoso piece of music typically for a keyboard or plucked string instrument featuring fast-moving, lightly fingered or otherwise virtuosic passages or sections, with or without imitative or fugal interludes, generally emphasizing the dexterity of the performer's fingers.


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Sonata op. 110

Beethoven's piano sonatas came to be seen as the first cycle of major piano pieces suited to concert hall performance. Being suitable for both private and public performance, Beethoven's sonatas form "a bridge between the worlds of the salon and the concert hall".  The Piano Sonata No. 31 in A-flat major, Op. 110 was composed in 1821. It is the central piano sonata in the group of three op. 109–111


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
2 Raphsodies op. 79

The Rhapsodies, Op. 79, for piano were written by Johannes Brahms in 1879 during his summer stay in Pörtschach, when he had reached the maturity of his career. They were inscribed to his friend, the musician and composer Elisabeth von Herzogenberg. At the suggestion of the dedicatee, Brahms reluctantly renamed the sophisticated compositions from "klavierstücke" (piano pieces) to "rhapsodies"

Variations on a theme of Paganini book II

Variations on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 35, is a work for piano composed in 1863 by Johannes Brahms, based on the Caprice No. 24 in A minor by Niccolò Paganini.
Brahms intended the work to be more than simply a set of theme and variations; each variation also has the characteristic of a study. He published it as Studies for Pianoforte: Variations on a Theme of Paganini. It is uncharacteristically showy for Brahms, even Lisztean. Indeed, the work was composed for the piano virtuoso Carl Tausig.