Friday 3 November
Raffles Hotel - Le Royal
Works by Mozart & Beethoven

Sunday 5 November
Raffles Hotel - Le Royal
7pm Concert GRAND FINALE
Works by Beethoven & Brahms


Sunday 5 November
Raffles Hotel - Le Royal

6pm Pre-Concert Talk
with Loo Bang Hean
Lecturer at the Institute of Music
UCSI University Kuala Lumpur
- free admission -

7pm Concert GRAND FINALE
Works by Beethoven & Brahms

Cello Sonatas
Steven Retallick, violoncello,
Loo Bang Hean, piano

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 -1827)

Cello Sonata No1 in F major, Op 5 No 1

1. Adagio sostenuto
2. Allegro
3. Allegro vivace


The Sonata of Op 102/1 which can perhaps be regarded as the first works of Beethoven’s so-called ‘late’ period, were composed in 1815, the first completed, according to the wording on the manuscript, ‘towards the end of July’, and the second at the ‘beginning of August’. The inspiration behind them came from the cellist Josef Linke, another of Beethoven’s devoted musicians. Linke was a member of the house string quartet of Prince Rasumovsky, the former Russian Ambassador in Vienna, when at the end of December 1814 the Prince’s palace, laid out for an enormous royal banquet, burned to the ground.

In the early 19th century, sonatas for piano and instrument were usually advertised as piano sonatas with instrumental accompaniment. Beethoven's first violin sonatas, for instance, were published as "sonatas for piano with accompaniment by the violin." The cello sonata was especially so plagued, as it grew out of sonatas for continuo; as late as the beginning of the 19th century it was still common for the cello in cello sonatas to double the left hand of the piano part, with the piano right hand playing obbligato figurations and melodies. Beethoven, indeed, is credited with composing one of the first cello sonatas with a written-out piano part. The Op. 5 sonatas are the first two examples of fully developed cello sonatas in the modern tradition. There is no precedent for these sonatas: it is the first time in music history the cello is not used simply as a continuo instrument in a sonata


Richard Strauss (1864 -1949)

Cello Sonata in F major, Op. 6

1.Allegro con brio
2. Andante ma non troppo.
3. Finale - Allegro vivo.

Richard Strauss composed his Cello Sonata in 1883 when he was 19 years old.
It was dedicated to the Czech cellist Hanuš Wihan, who gave the premiere in 1883.
It rapidly became a standard part of the cello repertoire. The premiere was given on 6 December 1883 in Nuremberg, by Hans Wihan and pianist Hildergard von Koenigs. On 19 December of the same year, while visiting Dresden, Strauss accompanied the principal cellist of the Dresden Court Orchestra, Ferdinand Böckmann. He notes that "Of all the works from this period of Strauss's creative life, the Cello Sonata is still the one that is heard most often",[9] and that "This sonata quickly became one of Strauss's most frequently performed works". Strauss himself accompanied the sonata on several occasions later in his life: including concerts at Leipzig on 31 March 1890 (Alvin Schröder on Cello), New York on 18 March 1904 (Leo Schulz) and Manchester on 21 December 1904 (Carl Fuchs).